Announcement of 2018 IPSA Awards Winners

Announcement of 2018 IPSA Awards Winners

Posted by: Mr. Haluk Dag

Publication date: Fri, 20 Apr 2018

IPSA is pleased to announce the recipients of the following IPSA Awards, granted on the recommendation of the IPSA Committee on Organization, Procedures and Awards (COPA):

Foundation Mattei Dogan Award winner: James Scott

James Scott.jpg

Prof. James Scott received the Award for his contribution to the advancement of political science. Prof. Scott will deliver an award lecture at the 2018 IPSA World Congress on Sunday, 22 July at 15:30. Prof. Scott is the Sterling Professor of Political Science at Yale University and Professor of Anthropology and is co-Director of the Agrarian Studies Program.
James Scott's biography

Juan Linz Prize winner: Adam Przeworski

Adam Przeworski.jpgThe purpose of the Juan Linz Prize is to honour a prominent scholar engaged in the Decentralization, Multinational and Multiethnic Integration and Federalism Comparative Research of which Juan Linz was a master. Prof. Przeworski is the Carroll and Milton Professor of Politics and (by courtesy) Economics at New York University.
Adam Przeworski's biography

2018 Karl Deutsch Award winner: Robert Putnam

Photo small_Robert Putnam.jpgThe purpose of the Karl Deutsch Award is to honour a prominent scholar engaged in the cross-disciplinary research of which Karl Deutsch was a master.
Robert D. Putnam is the Peter and Isabel Malkin Professor of Public Policy at Harvard University. 
Robert Putnam's biography




Stein Rokkan Travel Grant Award Winner: Aeshna Badruzzaman

Aeshna Badruzzaman_web.jpgThe purpose of the Stein Rokkan fellowships is to assist a small number of graduate students to attend the world congress by covering their basic travel and accommodation costs. The recipients receive financial assistance towards travel and subsistence. The awards are made on the recommendation of the IPSA Committee on Organization, Procedures and Awards (COPA), and they are supported by the Stein Rokkan fund.
Aeshna Badruzzaman is a doctoral candidate in Political Science at Northeastern University in Boston, Massachusetts:
Aeshna Badruzzaman's biography



Global South Award Winner: Meenakshi Bansal

Meenakshi Bansal small.jpgEstablished to recognize the work done by a scholar from the Global South, and whose scholarly contribution is focused on the relevant countries/ regions/ themes. This award also recognizes cumulative body of work. It was awarded for the first time at the 2009 World Congress of Political Science.
Dr. Meenakshi Bansal works in the Post Graduate Department of Political Science at JVMGRR College (India).
Meenakshi Bansal's biography