IPSA at the 11th Latin American Congress of Political Science

IPSA at the 11th Latin American Congress of Political Science

Publication date: Tue, 12 Jul 2022

IPSA will be present at the 11th Latin American Congress of Political Science, organized by the Latin American Association of Political Science (ALACIP) and the Chilean Political Science Association. The virtual congress will be held on 21-23 July 2022 under the theme From Latin America to the World: Post-pandemic Political Transformations. The congress will kick off with an opening ceremony on 21 July, where IPSA President Dianne Pinderhughes will virtually address participants.  

IPSA Events
IPSA is organizing two events for congress participants, both held in Spanish. 

Friday, 22 July 2022, 12:00-12:30 (Chilean time)
Meet IPSA President-Elect Prof. Pablo Oñate

In this 20-minute exclusive session, IPSA President-Elect Pablo Oñate will meet participants to discuss IPSA’s academic activities and the upcoming IPSA World Congress in Buenos Aires in July 2023. His session will be followed by a Q&A. Don’t miss this opportunity to meet the next IPSA President!

Friday, 22 July 2022, 12:30-13:45 (Chilean time)
Populism in Europe and Latin America. Threat to Democracy or Genuine Representation of the Popular?

In this IPSA Panel, speakers will discuss the term “populism” from a historical perspective.

In Latin American social sciences, the term “populism” has been used to denote several political phenomena since the 60s. At the dawn of the 21st century, new political experiences and theoretical developments served to lend new meanings to the notion of “populism.”  The new century also witnessed similar phenomena in Europe and North America, albeit with their own particularities. The term “populism” also suggests a political bias. Thus, its treatment, discussion and comparative research provide a vital bridge between colleagues from the north and south. Latin American political science can contribute a wealth of knowledge on the subject at a global level.


  • Marianne Kneuer (IPSA Past President)
  • Pablo Oñate (IPSA President-Elect)
  • André Borges (Universidade de Brasília)
  • Sabrina Morán (Universidad de Buenos Aires)