The Council elected IPSA’s new President and President-elect

The Council elected IPSA’s new President and President-elect

Publication date: Mon, 12 Jul 2021

The IPSA Council, the highest decision-making body of the Association, has elected Dr. Dianne Pinderhughes (United States) as the new President of IPSA, succeeding Prof. Dr. Marianne Kneuer. Dr. Pinderhughes will serve a two-year term from 2021 to 2023.

Dr. Pinderhughes is Notre Dame Presidential Faculty Fellow and Professor in the Department of Africana Studies and the Department of Political Science. She holds a concurrent faculty appointment in American Studies, is a Faculty Fellow at the Kellogg Institute, and is a Research Faculty member in Gender Studies at the University of Notre Dame. Her research addresses inequality with a focus on racial, ethnic and gender politics and public policy in the Americas. She also explores the creation of American civil society institutions in the twentieth century and analyzes their influence on the formation of voting rights policy.

Dr. Pinderhughes’ publications include Contested Transformation - Race, Gender, and Political Leadership in 21st Century America (co-author; 2016); Uneven Roads: An Introduction to US Racial and Ethnic Politics (co-author; 2014); Black Politics After the Civil Rights Revolution: Collected Essays (forthcoming), and Race and Ethnicity in Chicago PoliticsA Reexamination of Pluralist Theory (1987).

The IPSA Council has also elected Prof. Pablo Oñate (Spain) as the President-elect. Prof. Oñate will serve two years as President-elect and will become President at the 2023 IPSA World Congress in Buenos Aires.

Prof. Oñate is the Chair of Political Science at the University of Valencia. His primary field of research is comparative politics, more specifically, representation and parliamentary elites and secondarily elections and electoral behaviour. He is the author and editor of several books and journal articles on these topics. He served as the Secretary-General of the Spanish PSA (2005 to 2013) and Secretary-General of the LOC of the IPSA 22nd World Congress in Madrid. He was elected President of the European Confederation of Political Science Associations (2014 and 2016). He has also worked for several organizations in the international field in several Central and Latin-American countries, Bosnia-Herzegovina, and Myanmar, dealing with democratization, institutional reform and electoral system.

On behalf of IPSA and the global Political Science community, we congratulate Dr. Pinderhughes and Prof. Oñate on their new positions.