RC35 - Technology and Development


Prof. Miguel Rocha de Sousa, University of Evora

University of Évora
Department of Economics
Colégio do Espírito Santo, Largo dos Colegiais
Évora 7000


Dr. Preeti Sharma, Central University of Gujarat

Centre for International Politics, School of International Studies
Central University of Gujarat

Dr. Brian Warby, University of Northern Iowa

University of Northern Iowa
Department of Political Science
1227 W 27th St Cedar Falls
Cedar Falls, Iowa 50614
United States


Ms. Carolina Polito, LUISS Guido Carli University

Department of Political Science
LUISS Guido Carli University
Viale Pola
Rome 00198

Board Members

Prof. Dr. Ouyang Kang, Department of Political Philosophy, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China, kouyang@mail.hust.edu.cn
Prof. Dr. Dhirendra Vajpeyi, Emeritus Chair RC35, Univ. Northern Iowa, Emeritus Prof. of Political Science, USA, dkv@cfu.net.
Prof. Dr. Sheila Rai, Former Chair RC35, Univ of Rajasthan, Jaipur, India, sheilarai@rediffmail.com .
Prof. Dr. Hernan Mondani, Umeå University, Sweden, hernan.mondani@umu.se
Mr. Otávio  Henriques Oliveira, Pontifica Catholic University (PUC) Rio Janeiro, Brazil,  octavioco98@gmail.com
Miss Rúbia Marcussi Pontes, Universidade Estadual de Campinas (UNICAMP), São Paulo, Brazil, rubiamarcussi@gmail.com [media relations to RC35]
Dr. Gerardo Rodriguez de la Vega, Universidad del Monte de S.Tomás de Aquino, Argentina, gerardo.grodriguezdlv@unsta.edu.ag
Ms Tlhokomelo Rethabile Monethi, Technology and Development Consultant, The Compass Management Hub (Lesotho), Rhodes University (South Africa), tlhokomelomonethi@gmail.com
Mr. Etame Franklin, University of Buea, Cameroon, ekombo.fr@gmail.com
Miss Snigdha Tripathy, Deen Upadhayaya Gorakphur University, India, shwetaat2910@gmail.com
Mr Éberson Polita, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil, ebpolita@gmail.com
Dr. Eng. Vanessa Duarte, Center for Advanced Studies in Management and Economics, University of Evora, Portugal, vanessa.sduarte@gmail.com
Dr. Kris Hartley, City University of Hong Kong, China, kris.hartley@cityu.edu.hk


Recognised as study group in 1981; granted research committee status in 1990.


Examines the complex relationship between technology and development in the context of the political and institutional process, using a comparative framework. Its specific objectives are to identify broad political, administrative and policy strategies related to technology transfer and environmentally sound sustainable development; to analyse policy options for dealing with global, transboundary, and domestic issues relating to technological changes and environmental challenges; to examine the ethical, cultural, legal, political, institutional, administrative, scientific and technological frameworks which underlie and shape the human dimension of global change.

To foster a global network of political scientists and others to engage in research in the dynamics of human interactions with science and technology; and to provide a comparative perspective to such issues as sustainable development, managing the environment, technology transfer, global environmental facility, role of international aid agencies.