John Coakley Named as the Recipient of the 2023 Karl Deutsch Award

John Coakley Named as the Recipient of the 2023 Karl Deutsch Award

Publication date: Wed, 01 Mar 2023

The IPSA Committee on Organization, Procedures, and Awards (COPA) is thrilled to announce its selection of John Coakley for the 2023 Karl Deutsch Award. Prof. Coakley is an emeritus professor in the School of Politics and International Relations at University College Dublin and former Secretary-General of IPSA (1994-2000). 

The purpose of the Karl Deutsch Award is to honour a prominent scholar engaged in the cross-disciplinary research of which Karl Deutsch was a master, focusing on recognizing outstanding scholarship in global politics. The award is supported by the Karl Deutsch fund. 

As the recipient, Prof. Coakley will present a prize lecture on Routes towards Nationalist Mobilisation: Comparative European Patterns at the 2023 IPSA World Congress of Political Science in Argentina on 17 July. 

John Coakley

John Coakley is Emeritus Professor of Politics at University College Dublin, a fellow of the UCD Geary Institute for Public Policy and an Honorary Professor at Queen’s University Belfast. He is a former Secretary-General of the International Political Science Association (1994-2000), Vice-President of the International Social Science Council (2002-2006), and member of the European Science Foundation Standing Committee for the Social Sciences (2002-2008). He is a member of the Royal Irish Academy and was a Woodrow Wilson Scholar and a Fulbright Scholar. He was founding Director of the Institute for British-Irish Studies, UCD (1999). 

Recent publications include various journal articles, book chapters and books, including Nationalism, Ethnicity and the State: Making and Breaking Nations (Sage, 2012), Breaking Patterns of Conflict: Britain, Ireland and the Northern Ireland Question (co-edited with Jenifer Todd, Routledge, 2015), Non-Territorial Autonomy in Divided Societies: Comparative Perspectives (edited, Routledge, 2017), Politics in the Republic of Ireland, 6th ed. (co-edited with Michael Gallagher, Routledge, 2018) and Negotiating a Settlement in Northern Ireland, 1969-2019 (with Jennifer Todd, Oxford University Press, 2020).