IPSA Council Elected the 27th Executive Committee

IPSA Council Elected the 27th Executive Committee

Publication date: Wed, 19 Jul 2023

We are delighted to share the outcome of the election of the 27th Executive Committee (EC) held on 19 July 2023 at the IPSA World Congress of Political Science in Buenos Aires. We extend our warm congratulations to the 16 members who were elected by acclamation. We are also happy to announce that 56 percent of the IPSA Executive Committee elected members are women (9 out of 16). 

At the first Executive Committee meeting, held following the election, IPSA President Pablo Oñate nominated the chairs of the following EC sub-committees: 

Committee on Organizations, Procedures and Awards (COPA)
Serge Granger (Canada)

Committee on Research and Training (CRT)
Keiichi Kubo (Japan)

Congress Program Committee
Irasema Coronado (United States), WC2025 Program Co-Chair

Publications Committee
Madalena Meyer Resende (Portugal) and Anja Jetschke (Germany)

Participation and Membership Committee
Florence Haegel (France)

Gender and Diversity Committee
Vanessa Elias de Oliveira (Brazil)

Academic Freedom and Ethics
Francesca Longo (Italy)

Regional Dialogues Committee
Emilia Palonen (Finland)

We wish to congratulate the newly nominated chairs. 

In line with IPSA Rules and Procedures, Past President Dianne Pinderhughes will be chairing the Budget and Bid Committees. We are also pleased to announce the nomination of Hasret Dikici Bilgin as Summer School Coordinator.  

Finally, the 27th Executive Committee is also composed of non-elected officials who sit as ex-officio members: 

International Political Science Abstracts
Editors Paul Godt (France) and Stephen Sawyer (USA)

International Political Science Review (IPSR)
Editors Daniel Stockemer (Canada) and Annika Hinze (USA)

IPSA MOOCs and IPSA Portal
Editor Mauro Calise (Italy)

WC2025 Program Co-Chair
Azul A. Aguiar Aguilar (Mexico).

The following 16 Executive Committee elected members will be governing IPSA for the next two years. We are confident that their expertise, vision and dedication to the advancement of political science will foster a new era of progress and innovation within the Association. 

In alphabetical order:

Dr. Santiago Basabe-Serrano

Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales (FLASCO)
Ecuadorian Political Science Association

Prof. Ajin Choi

Yonsei University
Korean Political Science Association

Dr. Irasema Coronado

Arizona State University
American Political Science Association

Prof. Vanessa Elias de Oliveira

Universidade Federal do ABC (UFABC)
Brazilian Political Science Association

Dr. Berk Esen

Sabanci University
Turkish Political Science Association

Dr. Serge Granger

Université de Sherbrooke
Canadian Political Science Association

Prof. Florence Haegel

Sciences Po Paris
Association française de science politique

Prof. Anja Jetschke

Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
German Political Science Association

Dr. Keiichi Kubo

Waseda University
Japanese Political Science Association

Prof. Francesca Longo

Università di Catania
Italian Political Science Association

Prof. Madalena Meyer Resende

Universidade Nova de Lisboa
Portuguese Political Science Association

Prof. Magdalena Musial-Karg

Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań
Polish Political Science Association

Dr. Emilia Palonen

University of Helsinki
Nordic Political Science Association

Prof. Indrajit Roy

University of York
The Political Studies Association, United Kingdom

Prof. Kgothatso Shai

University of Limpopo
South African Association of Political Studies

Dr. Jesús Tovar

Universidad Autónoma del Estado de Mexico
Mexican Political Science Association