2015 Meisel-Laponce Award Winners

2015 Meisel-Laponce Award Winners

Posted by: Mrs. Sarah Veilleux-Poulin

Publication date: Mon, 11 Jan 2016

The International Political Science Association (IPSA) and International Political Science Review (IPSR) are pleased to announce the winners of the Meisel-Laponce Award for the best article published in the International Political Science Review since 2011.

The prize was created in honor of John Meisel and Jean Laponce, the first two editors of IPSR. It honours Professors Meisel and Laponce's distinguished contributions to the journal as well as the authors of the article that the co-editors and Editorial Board of IPSR judge to be the best published in IPSR over the past four years.

Both winning articles listed below are free to access.

The Meisel-Laponce Award for the best article published in IPSR since 2011 has been awarded to:

Lingling Qi and Doh Chull Shin, 'How mass political attitudes affect democratization: Exploring the facilitating role critical democrats play in the process'

International Political Science Review/Revue internationale de science pol, June 2011, vol. 32, issue 3, pp. 245-262. doi:10.1177/0192512110382029

The runner up was:

Anthony and Heather Smith, 'Human Trafficking: The Unintended Effects of United Nations Intervention'

International Political Science Review/ Revue internationale de science pol, March 2011, vol. 32, issue 2, pp. 125-145.doi:10.1177/0192512110371240

The other nominees were:

Julian Bernauer, Nathalie Giger and Jan Rosset, ‘Mind the gap: Do proportional electoral systems foster a more equal representation of women and men, poor and rich?’, IPSR, 36(1) 2015: 78–98

Ellen Quintelier and Marc Hooghe, 'Political attitudes and political participation: A panel study in socialization and self-selection effects among late adolescents’, IPSR, 33(1) 2012: 63–81

Emmanuelle Reungoat, 'Mobilising Europe in national competition: The case of the French Front National', IPSR, 36 (3) 2015: 296–310

Jane Suiter, David M Farrell and Eoin O’Malley, ‘When do deliberative citizens change their opinions?’, IPSR, OnlineFirst 2014 DOI: 10.1177/0192512114544068

The award will be delivered at an Award Session at IPSA's 24th World Congress in Istanbul on July 26, 2016.