Indian Political Science Association


Indian Political Science Association (IPSA) is the highest and largest academic and professional body of the teachers and scholars of Political Science and Public Administration in India. This is the national association and non-profit registered organization. This national professional organization of the discipline of Political Science came into existence in December, 1938 at Benaras. Pandit Govind Ballabh Pant was its founder President, while Prof. GN Singh was its first General Secretary. Prof. Beni Prasad was the first Editor of the Indian Journal of Political Science, which was first published in September 1939. The chronological list of the conferences and the chief office-bearers is a testimony to the fact that IPSA has travelled throughout the country from Lahore (1940) to Trivendram (1948), from Bombay (1941) to Calcutta (1950), and from Waltair (1957) to Ahmadabad (1966). The aims and intellectual tradition of IPSA are: 

  • Advancement of Political Science;
  • Scientific Study of Politics;
  • Dissemination of Knowledge; and
  • Rigorous Political Enquiry