Faculty of Political Science, Lomonosov Moscow State University


The Faculty of Political Science, Lomonosov Moscow State University Dean – Professor Andrei Yu. Shutov, Doctor of Historical Sciences In accordance with the decision of the University's Academic Council and at the behest of the University's President, Victor Sadovnichiy, Academic of the Russian Academy of Science, Lomonosov Moscow State University's Faculty of Political Science was founded in 2008. Its various stated goals include the training and further education of specialists in the classical university traditions, whilst integrating present day international experience with innovative research into practical, day-to-day modern politics. There has been a long tradition of teaching political science at MSU that stretches back to 1755. In fact, a Politics Department was amongst the first ten department faculties created by the University's founder, Mikhail Lomonosov. During the first half of the 19th century, there was even a Department of Ethical and Political Sciences. Contemporary political science has been taught since 1989, but for nearly two decades this was done in Department of Philosophy's Political Science Division, which had the responsibility of schooling political analysts and scientists. Today, under the established independent Faculty of Political Science, students are able to specialize in manifold disciplines: history and political theory; the history of political thought; political analysis and predictive modeling; comparative politics; political conflict management (conflictology); political sociology and psychology; state politics and management; world politics; international relations and geopolitics; political processes in Russia; electoral systems and voting processes; political informatics and information-analytical work; and global studies and environmental politics. In every instance, significant attention is given to work experience. In the final years of their studies, students carry out practical training programs in various Sub-Departments of the Presidential Administration Office as well as in the Russian Government, the Russian State Duma, the Federation Council, and in the information-analysis and public relations departments of different Russian corporations, political and consulting agencies and mass media and international organizations. Today the Faculty of Political Science comprises six different departments.