RC43 - Religion and Politics

Chair

Prof Giorgiandrea (Giorgio) Shani, International Christian University
gshani@icu.ac.jp

International Christian University
Politics and International Studies
3-10-2 Osawa
Mitaka, Tokyo 181-8585
Japan

 

Officers

Dr. Emilce Cuda, Universidad Nacional Arturo Jauretche de Argentina and Pontificia Universidad Catolica, Argentina, emilcecuda@gmail.com

Prof. Miroljub Jevtic, University of Belgrade, Serbia,jevticmiroljub@yahoo.com

Prof. Mark Tessler, University of Michigan, US, tessler@umich.edu

Prof. John Rees, The University of Notre Dame, Australia) john.rees@nd.edu.au

Dr. La Toya Waha, Konrad Adenauer Stiftung, Germany, latoya.waha@kas.de

Dr. Pierre Baudry, Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes/CNRS and University of Bourgogne, France, baudrypierre@yahoo.fr

Prof. Keiko Sakai, Chiba University, Japan, keikosak@chiba-u.jp

Prof. Joanildo Burity, Joaquim Nabuco Foundation, Brazil, joanildo.burity@fundaj.gov.br

Ms. Ruchika Raina, Central University of Kashmir, India, rraina730@gmail.com

Prof. Ahmet Erdi Ozturk, London Metropolitan University, UK, e.ozturk@londonmet.ac.uk

 

Background

Recognised as study group in 1986; granted research committee status in 1999.

 

Objectives

RC43 - Religion and Politics focuses on global, regional and local interactions between religion and politics throughout the world. Political ideas and policies relevant to different religions (particularly, but not exclusively, those with global adherents) are examined. Public religion in contemporary culture and society is studied, particularly in relation to peace, development, human rights, environment, political processes, political organizations, and identity.

 

Working languages

English/French

 

Website

http://rc43.ipsa.org/