RC29 - Political Psychology


Sonja Zmerli, Professor of Political Sociology, Sciences Po Grenoble

Institut d'Etudes Politiques de Grenoble
1030, avenue centrale
38400 St. Martin d'Hères



Ofer Feldman, Professor of Political Psychology & Behavior, Doshisha University

Faculty of Policy Studies
Doshisha University
Keisuikan 228, Kamigyo-ku, Imadegawa, Kyoto
Japan 602-8580


Paul Dekker, Professor of Civil Society, Tilburg University

The Netherlands Institute for Social Research | SCP
Tilburg University
NL – 2500 BD Den Haag
The Netherlands



1. Peter Bull – University of York, United Kingdom, drpebull@ gmail.com

2. Annemarie Walter  – University of Nottingham, United Kingdom, annemarie.walter@nottingham.ac.uk

3. Robert Gilbert  – Northeastern University, United States, r.gilbert@neu.edu

4. Sigal Ben-Rafael Galanti  – Beit Berl College, Israel, sigalbrg@ gmail.com

5. Ziyodakhon Gazieva – Ball State University, Uzbekistan, zgaziyeva@gmail.com

6. Kathrin Ackermann   – Universitat Bern, Switzerland, kathrin. ackermann@ipw.unibe.ch

7. Kristina Weißmüller  – University of Hamburg, Germany, kristina.weissmueller@wiso.uni-hamburg.de

8. Shingo Hamanaka – Ryukoku University, Japan, shingohamanaka@gmail.com

9. Sarah Tanke – Sciences Po Paris, France, sarah.tanke@ sciencespo.fr

10. Laura Pérez Rastrilla – Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain, lprastrilla@ccinf.ucm.es



Recognised as study group in 1981; granted research committee status in 1987.



Promotes the use of psychology in understanding political phenomena. A variety of perspectives are encouraged, including those found in psychoanalytic psychology, personality theory and social psychology. The committee aims to keep people informed in various parts of the world on the kind of research that is being done in countries and regions other than their own. Members study governmental institutions and international relations, though the emphasis is on political behaviour.