RC19 - Gender Politics and Policy

Chair

Dr. Malliga Och
ochmall@isu.edu

Global Studies and Languages Department
Idaho State University
921 South 8th Avenue
Pocatello, Idaho - 83209
United States

 

Co-chair

Dr. Pedro dos Santos
pdossanto001@csbsju.edu

St. John's College
Political Science
37 South College Avenue
St. Joseph, MN 56374
United States

 

Executive Board Members

Prof. Lenita Freidenvall, Sweden, Stockholm University, lenita.freidenvall@statsvet.su.se
Prof. Jennifer Curtin, New Zealand, j.curtin@auckland.ac.nz
Prof. Marian Sawer, Australia, marian.sawer@anu.edu.au
Prof. Marjeta Sinko, Croatia, marjeta.sinko@fpzg.hr
Prof. Josefina Erikson, Sweden, Upsala University, josefina.erikson@statsvet.uu.se
Prof. Katrina Beauregard, Australia, Australian National University, katrine.beauregard@anu.edu.au
Dr. Ceclia Josefsson, Sweden, Upsala University, cecilia.josefsson@statsvet.uu.se
Prof. Sarah Liu, Great Britain, University of Edinburgh, sarah.liu@ed.ac.uk
Prof. Juliana Restrepo Sanin, USA, University of Florida, jsanin@ufl.edu
Prof. Chang-Ling Huang, Taiwan, National Taiwan University, changlinghuang@gmail.com

 

Background

Recognized as a study group in 1976; granted research committee status in 1979.

 

Objectives

Addresses a broad array of issues involving gender and politics, major themes of focus to date including political participation of women; women and public policy in comparative perspective; women in public administration; women and politics in third world countries; women, religion and politics; the role of legislation and the status of women; women and the transition to democracy; strategies for the empowerment of women; feminist theory; women and nationalism; eco-feminism; and the global women’s movement and international relations.

 

Website

http://rc19.ipsa.org/