RC19 - Gender Politics and Policy


Dr. Malliga Och

Global Studies and Languages Department
Idaho State University
921 South 8th Avenue
Pocatello, Idaho - 83209
United States



Dr. Pedro dos Santos

St. John's College
Political Science
37 South College Avenue
St. Joseph, MN 56374
United States


Executive Board Members

Prof. Lenita Freidenvall, Sweden, Stockholm University, lenita.freidenvall@statsvet.su.se
Prof. Jennifer Curtin, New Zealand, j.curtin@auckland.ac.nz
Prof. Marian Sawer, Australia, marian.sawer@anu.edu.au
Prof. Marjeta Sinko, Croatia, marjeta.sinko@fpzg.hr
Prof. Josefina Erikson, Sweden, Upsala University, josefina.erikson@statsvet.uu.se
Prof. Katrina Beauregard, Australia, Australian National University, katrine.beauregard@anu.edu.au
Dr. Ceclia Josefsson, Sweden, Upsala University, cecilia.josefsson@statsvet.uu.se
Prof. Sarah Liu, Great Britain, University of Edinburgh, sarah.liu@ed.ac.uk
Prof. Juliana Restrepo Sanin, USA, University of Florida, jsanin@ufl.edu
Prof. Chang-Ling Huang, Taiwan, National Taiwan University, changlinghuang@gmail.com



Recognized as a study group in 1976; granted research committee status in 1979.



Addresses a broad array of issues involving gender and politics, major themes of focus to date including political participation of women; women and public policy in comparative perspective; women in public administration; women and politics in third world countries; women, religion and politics; the role of legislation and the status of women; women and the transition to democracy; strategies for the empowerment of women; feminist theory; women and nationalism; eco-feminism; and the global women’s movement and international relations.