RC13 - Democratization in Comparative Perspective


Adam Szymański
ad_szym@poczta.onet.pl / ar.szymanski@uw.edu.pl
University of Warsaw



Dirk Kotzé
University of South Africa



Melba Nyabereka
Monash University, South Africa Campus


Other Boards Members

Since 2018:

Rana Abo Amra, Cairo University, Egypt, rana_aboamra@yahoo.com

Renata Mieńkowska-Norkienė, University of Warsaw, Poland, r.mienkowska@uw.edu.pl

Simon Akindes, University of Wisconsin, US, akindess@uwp.edu

Agnieszka Bejma, University of Warsaw, Poland, a.bejma@uw.edu.pl

Davor Boban, University of Zagreb, Croatia, dboban@fpzg.hr

Since 2021:

Ana Lucia Henrique, Chamber of Deputies, Brazil, analuhenrique@gmail.com

Edgar Javier Flores Tiravanti, University of Buenos Aires, Argentina, edgarjflorestiravanti@yahoo.com.ar

Martin Mendoza-Botelho, Eastern Connecticut State University, US, mendozabotelhom@easternct.edu



Recognised as study group in 1989; granted research committee status in 1994.




Deals with the basic conditions of democracy, but also the more specific aspects of the recent “wave”, in a systematic comparative manner. The present focus in on the historical and cultural particularities of this process in the major regions of the world (ie Africa, Latin America, Asia and Eastern Europe, thus far). Further work will concentrate on the theoretical implications of these processes and the risks and chances for a further consolidation and deepening of democracy in all parts of the world.