Awards - Prize of the Foundation Mattei Dogan awarded by the International Political Science Association for High Achievement in Political Science

Fondation Mattei DoganThe Prize of the Foundation Mattei Dogan awarded by the International Political Science Association for High Achievement in Political Science is offered to a scholar of high international reputation in recognition of his/her contribution to the advancement of political science. The prize is awarded at every IPSA World Congress of Political Science.

The recipient for 2018 will be invited to present a prize lecture during the 25th IPSA World Congress of Political Science in Brisbane, Australia, and will receive US$5,000 from the Foundation Mattei Dogan.

Nomination deadline: 15 November 2017

Guidelines for nomination:

Nominations for the prize can be made by one of the following four ways:
a) jointly by two or several national associations of IPSA;
b) jointly by two or several IPSA Research Committees;
c) jointly by four or more IPSA members in good standing of at least two different nationalities;
d) from outside IPSA, by established academic institutions active in political science.

Nominations must indicate the merits of the nominee and be accompanied by his/her biography and bibliography. The propositions should also include letters of recommendation, signed by eminent scholars, as well as a report about citations of the nominee in the Social Science Citation Index during the previous 15 years.

Incumbent IPSA EC members can at any time during the nomination process make reasoned nominations.

Nominations are to be sent:

By email: A PDF copy by email to the attention of Guy Lachapelle, the IPSA Secretary General,  to:


By mail: A printed copy by mail to:

Guy Lachapelle
Secretary General
International Political Science Association (IPSA)
1590, av. Docteur-Penfield, bureau 331
Montréal (QC) H3G 1C5

The awards are made on the recommendation of the IPSA Committee on Organization, Procedures and Awards (COPA).

Current officers of the IPSA Executive Committee and of the Council, as well as the officers of the Research Committees are not eligible for this award. Former IPSA officers become eligible four years after the end of their last mandate.


James Scott.jpg

Prof. James Scott
Yale University

James Scott, is the Sterling Professor of Political Science and Professor of Anthropology and is co-Director of the Agrarian Studies Program.  He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and has been a fellow at the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, and the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin.  His research concerns political economy, comparative agrarian societies, theories of hegemony and resistance, peasant politics, revolution, Southeast Asia, theories of class relations and anarchism.  His publications include The Moral Economy of the Peasant, Yale University Press, 1976, Weapons of the Weak: Everyday Forms of Peasant Resistance Yale Press, 1985, Domination and the Arts of Resistance, Yale Press, 1990, Seeing Like a State: How Certain Schemes to Improve the Human Condition Have Failed, Yale Press, 1998; The Art of Not Being Governed: An Anarchist History of Upland Southeast Asia, Yale University Press, 2008, Two Cheers for Anarchism, Princeton University Press, 2013 and Against the Grain: A Deep History of the First Agrarian States, Yale Press 2017). He is a mediocre sheep breeder and bee-keeper in Connecticut.



Prof. Theda Skocpol
Harvard University

Theda Skocpol (PhD, Harvard, 1975) is the Victor S. Thomas Professor of Government and Sociology at Harvard University. At Harvard, she has served as Dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (2005-2007) and as Director of the Center for American Political Studies (2000-2006). In 2007, Skocpol was awarded the Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science for her "visionary analysis of the significance of the state for revolutions, welfare, and political trust, pursued with theoretical depth and empirical evidence." The Skytte Prize is one of the largest and most prestigious in political science and is awarded annually by the Skytte Foundation at Uppsala University (Sweden) to the scholar who in the view of the foundation has made the most valuable contribution to the discipline.

Skocpol's work covers an unusually broad spectrum of topics including both comparative politics (States and Social Revolutions, 1979) and American politics (Protecting Soldiers and Mothers: The Political Origins of Social Policy in the United States, 1992). Her books and articles have been widely cited in political science literature and have won numerous awards, including the 1993 Woodrow Wilson Award of the American Political Science Association for the best book in political science for the previous year. Skocpol's research focuses on U.S. social policy and civic engagement in American democracy, including changes since the 1960s. She has recently launched new projects on the development of U.S. higher education and on the transformations of U.S. federal policies in the Obama era.



Prof. Ronald Inglehart
University of Michigan

Ronald Inglehart is the Lowenstein Professor of Political Science and a research professor at the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan.  He is also co-director of the Laboratory for Comparative Social Research at the Higher School of Economics in St. Petersburg, Russia.  Inglehart helped found the Euro-Barometer surveys and directs the World Values Survey, which has surveyed representative national samples of the publics of 97 countries containing almost 90 percent of the world’s population.  His research deals with changing belief systems and their impact on social and political change.

Klaus von Beyme2012

Prof. Klaus von Beyme
Institut für Politische Wissenschaft

Prof. Klaus von Beyme, born 1934 in Saarau/Silesia. Studies of Political Science, Sociology, History and History of Arts in Heidelberg, Munich, Paris, Moscow. Research fellow at the Russian Research Centre, Harvard University 1961/62. Professor of Political Science at Tuebingen and Heidelberg (1967-1999). Member of the European Academy and the Academy of Berlin-Brandenburg. President of the International Political Science Association 1982-1985. Visiting Professor at Stanford, Melbourne, Paris and the Science Centre in Berlin. Research in Comparative Politics (East and West Europe) and Political Theory. Books on parliaments, interest groups, elites, history of political ideas  and studies on the relationship of art and politics, most of them in German (in English 8 titles, in Spanish 4 Titles and translations in some other languages).


Philippe Schmitter2009

Prof. Philippe Schmitter
European University Institute

See the Prize of the Foundation Mattei Dogan Lecture at the 2009 IPSA World Congress of Political Science in Santiago, Chile:


Guillermo O'Donnell2006

Prof. Guillermo O'Donnell
Kellogg Institute for International Studies, University of Notre-Dame, USA