Awards - APSA-IPSA Theodore J. Lowi First Book Award

Theodore J LowiThe Theodore J. Lowi First Book Award has been established to honor Lowi’s distinctive contributions to the study of politics. Throughout a prolific and influential career, Lowi developed new understandings of the relationship of public policy to politics, the influence of institutional arrangements to the exercise of power, the role of ideology in the development of political parties, the relationship of democracy to law, the relevance of concept analysis for theory building, and more.

The Lowi Award recognizes the author of a first book in any field of political science that exemplifies qualities of broad ambition, high originality, and intellectual daring, showing promise of having a substantive impact on the overall discipline, regardless of method, specific focus of inquiry or approach to subject. The award carries a cash prize of US$750.00.

APSA and IPSA will administer and fund the Lowi Award in alternating years. The 2018 Lowi Award will be awarded at the 2018 IPSA World Congress of Political Science in Poznań, Poland. APSA will award it at the 2017 APSA Annual Meeting in San Francisco.


Guideline for Nomination

Nominations should be submitted electronically using APSA's form at

The nomination period : 12 February 2018

The 2018 prize recognizes books published in the previous calendar year (2017). Books should be single-author works to be eligible for the Lowi Award.

Nominators are responsible for shipping or sending books to the award committee after submitting a nomination. Shipping information for award committee members is available below. All books being shipped should be postmarked by no later than 12 February 2018 in order to be considered.

For questions about the Lowi Award, please contact

2018 Award Committee:

Chair: Carlo Guarnieri
Dipartimento di Scienze Politiche e Sociali
Università di Bologna
Strada Maggiore 45, 40125 Bologna

Suzanne Mettler
Cornell University
305 Brookford Rd
Syracus, NY 13224

David Vogel
University of California, Berkeley
Haas School of Business
545 Faculty Wing
Mail Code 1900, Berkeley, CA 94720


APSA-IPSA Theodore J. Lowi First Book Award Recipients

2018 - Margaret Peters


Dr. Peters is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Political Science at UCLA.  Her research focuses broadly on international political economy with a special focus on the politics of migration.  Prior to coming to UCLA, she was an Assistant Professor in the Political Science department at Yale University and at the  University of Wisconsin-Madison. She earned her Ph.D. from Stanford University in 2011. Her work has appeared in International Organization and World Politics, among others.

Dr. Peter’s book, Trading Barriers: Immigration and the Remaking of Globalization, examines the relationship between trade policy, outsourcing, and immigration policy, demonstrating the important and influential role played by international trade and capital movements in shaping public policies toward immigration. An exhaustively researched and original analysis, with broad international policy implications, that illuminates our understanding of the relationship between trade liberalization and immigration policies.

2017 - Dara Kay Cohen

Dara Kay Cohen is an associate professor of public policy at the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University. Her research and teaching interests span the field of international relations, including international security, civil war and the dynamics of violence, and gender and conflict.

Her first book, Rape During Civil War (Cornell University Press, 2016), examines the variation in the use of rape during recent civil conflicts; the research for the book draws on extensive fieldwork in Sierra Leone, Timor-Leste and El Salvador. Her current project is focused on the intersection of political violence, public opinion and gender in Port-au-Prince, Haiti.


2016 - Jennifer C. Rubenstein

Jennifer C. Rubenstein is an associate professor of politics at the University of Virginia, specializing in political theory. Her interests include the political ethics of non-governmental organizations, humanitarianism, democratic theory (especially theories of non-electoral representation and advocacy that attend to global inequalities), emergencies, the politics of donating, and the role of imagination and experience in politics. She has published or forthcoming articles in the Journal of Politics, Journal of Political Philosophy, Journal of Social Philosophy, Journal of Social Philosophy and Policy, and the British Journal of Political Science.

The Award Committee was unanimous in its decision to award the Theodore J. Lowi  ‘First Book Award’ for 2016 to Dr. Rubenstein for her book Between Samaritans and States: The Political Ethics of Humanitarian INGOs, published by Oxford University Press, 2015.