Political Communication in Defining South Asian Politics

Political Communication in Defining South Asian Politics

Contact: merkovity@juris.u-szeged.hu


Deadline: Sat, 20 Aug 2022

Event Details

As the digital world expanded with the public’s greater access to social media and other communication platforms, political communication within the South Asian region has become a priority – to not only understand how the governments are using it but also the role in defining bilateral relations within South Asia. This is particularly important for a region with hundreds of regional and local languages. From Tamil media playing a role in determining India and Sri Lanka’s relationships, how political communications play into border issues between Pakistan and India, how the diaspora understands the regional politics and understanding the environment and the role of political consulting. This event will look into how and why understanding political communication in South Asia is more important than ever before.
The organizers look forward to presentations in (but not limited to) the following areas of interest:

  • patterns of political communication and its growing importance in the South Asian region;
  • the role of political consultancies in South Asia, particularly in regional elections and the challenges they face;
  • the trends of liberal or autocratic tendencies in electronic and traditional means of political communication, and the problems of having a free/ liberal media in the region;
  • the varying discourses that influence public opinion and politics in South Asia.

Abstracts (with a maximum length of 350 words) will be evaluated by members of the Scientific Committee. Please include the name, affiliation and email address of the author(s). 
Send your abstracts to https://forms.gle/rhvSH7zuLK3gKYJs9

Important Dates

1. Deadline to submit abstracts: 20 Aug 2022
2. Notification of acceptance: 15 – 25 Sept 2022
3. Submission of complete papers: 15 to 25 Oct 2022
4. Date of the event: 5 Dec 2022

Organizing Committee:

  • Norbert Merkovity (University of Szeged, Hungary)
  • Magdalena Musiał-Karg (Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań, Poland)
  • Lenka Vochocová (Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic)
  • Małgorzata Winiarska-Brodowska (Jagiellonian University, Kraków, Poland)
  • Jeethu Elza Cherian (Australian High Commission, India)