RC36 - Political Power

Chair

Giulio M. Gallarotti, Wesleyan University
ggallarotti@wesleyan.edu

Wesleyan University, Government
238 Church Street
Middletown, CT 06441
USA

 

Vice-Chair

Alina V. Vladimirova, Russian Academy of Sciences
alina.v.vladimirova@gmail.com

Russian Academy of Sciences
Institute of Oriental Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences
Ulitsa Rozhdestvenka, 12
Moscow, 10731
Russia

 

Secretary

Mathilde Chatin, King's College London
Mathilde.Chatin@gmail.com

King's College London
Politics and Economics
Strand
London, WC2R 2LS
England

 

Officers

Mark Haugaard (National University of Ireland Galway) mark.haugaard @nuigalway.ie

Philip Cerny (University of Manchester and Rutgers University) pgcerny@andromeda.rutgers.edu

David Baldwin (Princeton University) dbaldwin@princeton.edu

John Gaventa (University of Sussex) j.gaventa@ids.ac.uk

Kevin Ryan (National University of Ireland Galway) kevin.ryan@nuigalway.ie

Pamela Pansardi (University of Pavia) pamela.pansardi@unipv.it

Lena Partzsch (University of Freiburg) lena.partzsch@ifp.uni-freiburg.de

Flor Avelino (Erasmus University of Rotterdam) avelino@drift.eur.nl

Johan Zaaiman (North-West University) johan.zaaiman@nwu.ac.za

Louwrens Pretorius (University of Pretoria) pretoriuses@gmail.com

Marco Martins (Evora University) mabm@uevora.pt

Stewart Clegg (University of Technology Sydney) stewart.clegg@uts.edu.au

David Strecker (Friedrich Schiller University Jena) david.strecker@uni-erfurt.de

 

Background

Recognised as study group in 1983; granted research committee status in 1991.

 

Objectives

Focuses on six dimensions of political power: conceptual analysis, political power structures (the constitution of power), power in configurations/policy networks, forms and resources of power, measuring power, and understanding the impact of globalisation and internationalisation of political, economic and administrative phenomena upon the nature of power.

Members represent many analytical perspectives and research traditions, including the following: sociological theory, analytical political theory, postmodern perspectives, empirical case studies, international relations, feminist analysis, and comparative research.

 

Website

http://powerstudies.org/

Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/RC36politicalpowergroup/