RC19 - Gender Politics and Policy

Chair

Dr. Lenita Freidenvall
Lenita.Freidenvall@statsvet.su.se

Department of Political Science
Stockholm University
SE-106 91 Stockholm
Sweden

 

Co-chair

Dr. Malliga Och
ochmall@isu.edu

Global Studies and Languages Department
Idaho State University
921 South 8th Avenue
Pocatello, Idaho - 83209
United States

 

Executive Board Members

Prof. Jennifer Curtin, New Zealand, j.curtin@auckland.ac.nz

Prof. Jane Bayes, United States, jbayes@csun.edu  

Prof. Judit Fabian, Canada, judit.fabian@ucalgary.ca  

Prof. Olena Hankivsky, Canada, oah@sfu.ca

Prof. Marian Sawer, Australia, marian.sawer@anu.edu.au

Prof. Lea Sgier, Hungary, Lea.Sgier@unige.ch

Prof. Marjeta Sinko, Croatia, marjeta.sinko@fpzg.hr

Prof. Jackie Steele, Japan, jfsteeleresearch@gmail.com

Prof. Blair Williams, Australia, blair.williams@anu.edu.au 

 

Background

Recognized as a study group in 1976; granted research committee status in 1979.

 

Objectives

 

Addresses a broad array of issues involving gender and politics, major themes of focus to date including political participation of women; women and public policy in comparative perspective; women in public administration; women and politics in third world countries; women, religion and politics; the role of legislation and the status of women; women and the transition to democracy; strategies for the empowerment of women; feminist theory; women and nationalism; eco-feminism; and the global women’s movement and international relations.

 

Website

 

http://rc19.ipsa.org/