RC19 - Gender Politics and Policy


Jennifer Curtin

Politics and International Relations
School of Social Sciences
University of Auckland
Private Bag 92019, Auckland 1142
New Zealand


Lenita Freidenvall

Department of Political Science
Stockholm University
SE-106 91 Stockholm

Executive Board Members

Anne Maria Holli (immediate past chair), anne.holli@helsinki.fi
Department of Political and Economic Studies, University of Helsinki, Finland

Judit Fabian, jfabian@uottawa.ca
Graduate School of Public and International Affairs, University of Ottawa, Canada

Petra Meier, Petra.meier@uantwerpen.be
University of Antwerp, Belgium

Lea Sgier, SgierL@ceu.edu
Department of Political Science, Central European University (CEU), Hungary

Olena Hankivsky, oah@sfu.ca
School of Public Policy, Simon Fraser University, Vancouver, Canada

Blair Williams, Blair.Williams@anu.edu.au
Australian National University, Canberra, Australia

Jackie Steele, jfsteeleresearch@gmail.com
University of Tokyo, Japan

Marjeta Sinko, sinko@ualberta.ca
Faculty of Political Science, University of Zagreb, Croatia

Jane Bayes, jbayes@csun.edu
California State University, Northridge, CA, United States.

Syeda Saima Ahmed, saim5882@gmail.com
Independent Scholar, United Kingdom



Recognized as a study group in 1976; granted research committee status in 1979.


Addresses a broad array of issues involving gender and politics, major themes of focus to date including political participation of women; women and public policy in comparative perspective; women in public administration; women and politics in third world countries; women, religion and politics; the role of legislation and the status of women; women and the transition to democracy; strategies for the empowerment of women; feminist theory; women and nationalism; eco-feminism; and the global women’s movement and international relations.