RC14 - Politics and Ethnicity

Chair

Timofey Agarin, Lecturer in Politics and Ethnic Conflict
t.agarin@qub.ac.uk

School of History, Anthropology, Philosophy and Politics
Queen’s University Belfast
25 University Sq,
Belfast BT71NN
Northern Ireland, UK

Phone: 00442890973659
Website http://www.qub.ac.uk/research-centres/CentrefortheStudyofEthnicConflict…

 

Vice-Chair

Allison McCulloch, Associate Professor
mccullocha@brandonu.ca

Political Science
Brandon University
Room 415, Clark Hall
270 - 18th Street
Brandon, MB R7A 6A9
Canada

Phone: +1-204-727-9612
Website: http://people.brandonu.ca/mccullocha/

 

Officers

Cera Murtagh, Villanova University, US, ce.murtagh@gmail.com

Damir Kapidzic, University of Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina, damir.kapidzic@fpn.unsa.ba

Madhushree Sekher, Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai, India, madhusekher@gmail.com

Bruno Mendelski, Universidade de Santa Cruz do Sul, Brasil brunomendelskidesouza@gmail.com

Galina Gribanova, Saint Petersburg State University, Russia, ggribanova@yandex.ru

Przemysław Biskup, University of Warsaw, Poland, p.biskup@wp.pl

Radu Carciumaru, Heidelberg University, Germany, carciumaru@uni-heidelberg.de

John Boye Ejobowah, Wilfrid Laurier University, Canada, jejobowah@wlu.ca

Ryo Nakai, University of Kitakyushu, Japan, nakai@kitakyu-u.ac.jp

Kathryn L. Wood, Mission College, Santa Clara, US, Kathryn.Wood@missioncollege.edu

Stephanie Lawson, Macquarie University, Australia, stephanie.lawson@mq.edu.au

Sangit Ragi, University of Delhi, India, sangit_ragi@yahoo.co.in

 

Background

Recognised as research committee in 1976.

 

Objectives

 

Focuses on the politics of ethnicity construed very broadly both in terms of methodology and orientation, ranging from broadly historical and deeply descriptive to more theoretical and empirically rigorous approaches. It touches upon such related themes as nationalism and nation-building; the formation and mobilisation of collective identities; cultural pluralism; irredentism; separatism; and the search for autonomy.

It also touches upon questions of race, religion, language, immigration and citizenship, concerns that are reflected in the titles of committee colloquia which deal with specific topics but may include both country-specific case studies as well as comparative analyses.

 

Website

 

http://rc14.ipsa.org/