RC12 - Biology and Politics

President

Dr. Albert Somit, albertsomit@gmail.com

Southern Illinois University (ret.)
4971 Cindy Ave
Carlsbad, CA 92008
USA

 

Vice-President

Dr. Jerzy Wiatr, jwiatr@ewspa.edu.pl

European School of Law and Administration
Grodzienska 21
03750 Warsaw
Poland

 

Secretary

Prof. Bradley Thayer, bthayer@tlu.ee

School of Governance
Tallinn University
Narva Road 25
Tallinn
Estonia

 

Liaison to IPSA

Dr. Steven A. Peterson, sap12@psu.edu

Penn State Harrisburg
777 W. Harrisburg Pike
Middletown, PA 17057
USA

 

Executive Council

Odelia Funke (USA), ofunke@earthlink.net
Amy Fletcher (New Zealand), amy.fletcher@canterbury.ac.nz
Patrick Stewart (USA), pastewar@uark.edu
Michael Bang Petersen (Denmark), michael@ps.au.dk
Johan van der Dennen (The Netherlands), J.M.G.van.der.Dennen@rug.nl

 

Background

 

Recognised as research committee in 1975.

 

Objectives

 

Explores the linkage between biology and politics. Practically, this translates into a variety of research foci : policy issues emerging from the life sciences (bioethics, health policy, sex preselection); evolutionary bases of human political phenomena; physiological bases of political thinking and behaviour; development of research methods to assay the linkage between biology and politics.

 

Website

 

http://rc12.ipsa.org/