RC11 - Science and Politics

Chair

Prof. Ulrich Hilpert, Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena
ulrich.hilpert@uni-jena.de

Faculty for Social and Behavioral Sciences
Professor and Chair of Comparative Government
Carl-Zeiss-Street 3
07743 Jena
Germany

Co-Chair

Prof. Paul M.A. Baker, Research and Strategic Innovation at Georgia Tech's Center for Advanced Communications Policy (CACP)
paul.baker@gatech.edu

Center for 21st Century Universities
Georgia Institute of Technology
266 Ferst Drive NW
Atlanta, GA 30332-0765

+1 404 385-3367

Officers

Prof. Connie L. McNeely, George Mason University
cmcneely@gmu.edu

Prof. Sharmistha Bagchi-Sen, State University of New York-Buffalo
geosbs@buffalo.edu

Prof. Vijai P. Singh, University of Pittsburgh
singh@pitt.edu

Prof. Desmond Hickie, University of Chester
deshickie@gmail.com

Prof. Nicola Bellini, Institute of Tourism and Groupe Sup de Co La Rochelle / La Rochelle Business School
bellinin@esc-larochelle.fr

Prof. Walter Scherrer, University of Salzburg
walter.scherrer@sbg.ac.at

Prof. Alberto Bramanti, Bocconi University
alberto.bramanti@unibocconi.it

Prof. Sunyang Chung, Konkuk University & Miller School of Management of Technology
sychung@konkuk.ac.kr

Prof. Chen Xiangdong, Beihang University
chenxdng@vip.sina.com

 

Background

 

Recognised as research committee in 1975.

 

Objectives

 

Explores the relationship between science and politics. It studies how public policies influence the conduct of science, methods, themes and its socio-economic impacts. It touches on how the discoveries change behaviors, issues and strategies of political actors.