Litvack Award Lecture

Event Information

McGill University - Centre for Human Rights & Legal Pluralism
End Date

Keynote address by David Kaye, UN Special Rapporteur on the Promotion and Protection of the Right to Freedom of Opinion and Expression.

The Litvack Award honours the memory of Robert S. Litvack, whose passionate commitment to the rule of law brought about landmark decisions in aboriginal and linguistic rights.  It is awarded to "a person who has made a distinguished contribution to the defense of the rule of law and the protection of the individual against arbitrary power".

Deniz Yücel, German-Turkish journalist, will be accepting the award on behalf of threatened and silenced voices in Turkey. Special guest Veysel Ok, freedom of speech lawyer, Turkey.

Past recipients include Saad Ibrahim, Sandra Lovelace, Jeanette Corbière-Lavell, Mary Two Axe Early, Bassem Eid, Philippe Kirsch, Benjamen Ferencz, Radhika Coomaraswamy, Asma Jahangir, and Joseph Arvay.

When: Monday, March 25, 1:00 pm,

Address: 3644 Peel Street, Montreal,

Room: Chancellor Day Hall Maxwell Cohen Moot Court