Award: 2019 Barbara Sinclair Lecture Award Nominations

American Political Science Association
Application Deadline
Contact Email

This lecture commemorates the life and scholarship of renowned scholar of legislative politics Barbara Sinclair. Each year a speaker will be selected to deliver the Barbara Sinclair Lecture, held at American University. The inaugural Barbara Sinclair Lecture will take place in Fall 2018. Speaker selection recognizes achievement in promoting understanding of the U.S. Congress and legislative politics. The lecture and speaker honorarium are co-sponsored by the Center for Congressional and Presidential Studies, School of Public Affairs, American University.

Barbara Sinclair taught at the University of California, Riverside, and University of California, Los Angeles, and was a member of the 1978-1979 class of APSA Congressional Fellows. She served her fellowship placement with House Majority Leader Jim Wright of Texas. She published the seminal work Majority Leadership in the U.S. House after her fellowship year and authored landmark studies of Congress throughout her career. Dr. Sinclair left a lasting mark not only for her scholarship but also for her service to the discipline. She was a dedicated mentor to new groups of scholars and served for many years as a member of the Congressional Fellowship Program Advisory Committee.

2019 Award Committee

Co-Chair: David Barker
American University

Co-Chair: Janna Deitz

Menna Demessie
Congressional Black Caucus Foundation

Molly Reynolds
The Brookings Institution

Sean Theriault
University of Texas, Austin

The deadline for nominating a speaker who meets the criteria above is March 29, 2019.

Should you have any questions or concerns about using this form, please contact