RC50 - The Politics of Language

Chair

Dr Rémi Léger
Assistant Professor
Department of Political Science
Simon Fraser University
Burnaby (British Columbia), Canada
rleger@sfu.ca

 

Vice-Chair

Dr Amy Liu
University of Texas at Austin, USA
amy.liu@austin.utexas.edu

 

Secretary

Dr Jean-Francois Dupré
University of Ottawa, Canada
rc50ipsa@gmail.com

 

Officers

Dr. Ericka Albaugh, Bowdoin College, USA, ealbaugh@bowdoin.edu
Dr. Daniel Cetra, University of Edinburgh, Scotland, d.cetra@ed.ac.uk
Dr. Bartosz Hordecki, Adam Mickiewicz University, Poland, bartoszhordecki@interia.pl
Dr. Peter Ives, University of Winnipeg, Canada, p.ives@uwinnipeg.ca
Dr. Rudi Janssens, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Rudi.janssens@vub.ac.be
Dr. Martin Normand, University of Ottawa, mnormand@uottawa.ca
Dr. Lauren Zentz, University of Houston, lrzentz@central.uh.edu

 

Background

Granted research committee status in 2000; committee created in January 2001.

 

Objectives

The purpose of the committee is to study the politics of language; more specifically to study:

  1. the relations of power that inflect the choice and use of language(s) in international, national, regional, and local polities, societies and communities;
  2. the origins, structures, implementation, effects and consequences of language regimes;
  3. the politics of linguistic minorities, including goals, strategies, motivations and mobilization;

 by

  1. using the normative and empirical tools of analysis in political science;
  2. developing mid-level theories regarding language and democracy, citizenship, globalization and other critical issues.

 

Website

http://rc50.ipsa.org/