RC44 - Security, Conflict and Democratization

Chair

Steven Ratuva, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
steven.ratuva@canterbury.ac.nz


Vice-Chair

Radomir Compel, University of Nagasaki, Japan
cmplrad@nagasaki-u.ac.jp


Secretary

Rosalie Arcala-Hall, University of the Philippines Visayas
rbarcalahall@up.edu.ph

 

Officers

Sérgio Luiz Cruz Aguilar, Universidade Estadual Paulista Júlio de Mesquita Filho, Brazil, sergio.aguilar@unesp.br

Hamdy Hassan Attalla, Zayed University, United Arab Emirates, Hamdy.Hassan@zu.ac.ae, hhamdy21@yahoo.com

Benjamin Zyla, University of Ottawa, Canada, Benjamin.Zyla@uottawa.ca

Jovanie Espesor, Mindanao State University, Philippines, jovanie.espesor@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Mohammad Bashir Mobasher, (University of Washington, USA), Afghanistan, mo-bashir@hotmail.com

Wint Aung Khaing, (Waseda University, Japan), Myanmar, wint.khaing@fuji.waseda.jp

Inderjeet Gill, Institute of Social Sciences, India, dr.invasi@yahoo.in

Anthony Hustedt, Purdue University, USA,ahustedt@purdue.edu

Pablo Zambrano, (Oxford University, UK), Chile, pablo.zambranor@gmail.com

 

Background

Recognised as study group in 1988; granted research committee status in 1999; changed name from "Role of the Military in Democratization" to "Security, Conflict and Democratization" in April 2018.

 

Objectives

Examines the processes, content and consequences of military interventions in the political systems of third world countries. Military interventions have been a characteristic feature of these countries over the last 30 years or so. In the mid 1980s there was general public revulsion against the culture of military rule, particularly in Latin America.

All these developments created an intellectual sphere which necessitated research in order to examine these processes of democratisation and their consequences. The political economy of military regimes, crisis in civil military relations and the role of military in nascent democracies have also been incorporated as areas of research.

 

Website

https://sites.google.com/site/ipsarc44/