RC17 - Comparative Public Opinion

Chair

Prof Yunhan Chu, Taiwan National University
yunhan.chu@gmail.com

Center for East Asia Democratic Studies
Taiwan National University
No.1, Sec. 4, Roosevelt Road
Taipei 10617
Taiwan

Tel: 886-2-33668456

 

Vice-Chairs

Prof Sandeep Shastri, Jain University
sshastri48@gmail.com

Prof Robert Mattes, University of Strathclyde
mattesrobert@gmail.com

 

Secretary General

Ms Kseniya Kizilova, Institute for Comparative Survey Research
ksenniya.kizilova@gmail.com

Department of Political Science
University of Vienna
Porzellangasse 22A/2/5A
1090 Vienna
Austria

 

Officers

Prof Mark Tessler, Michigan University, USA, tessler@umich.edu

Prof Marita Carballo, Voices! Research and Consultancy, Argentina, maritacarballo@voicesconsultancy.com

Prof Eduard Ponarin, Higher School of Economics, Russia, eponarin@hse.ru

Prof Christian Haerpfer, University of Vienna, Austria, c.w.haerpfer@gmail.com

Prof Richard Gunther, Ohio State University, USA, gunther.1@polisci.osu.edu

Dr Marta Lagos, Latinobarometro, Chile, mlagoscc@gmail.com

Prof Weng-fang Tang, University of Iowa, USA, wenfang-tang@uiowa.edu

Prof Elizabeth Zechmeister, Vanderbilt University, USA, liz.zechmeister@vanderbilt.edu

Prof Nikolay Narbut, People’s Friendship University of Russia (RUDN), Russian Federation, narbut.n@mail.ru

 

Background

Recognized as a research committee in 2011.

 

Objectives

The main objectives of this research committee are to plan, conduct and publish international comparative research in political science and political sociology on the basis of comparative public opinion surveys. The geographical area of ‘Comparative Public Opinion’ is North America, Latin America, Africa, Asia, Eurasia and Europe.

Central theoretical and empirical fields are represented by the studies on Political Participation, Civic Engagement, Support for Democracy, Meanings of Democracy, Confidence in Social and Political Institutions, National Electoral Systems, Mass Belief Systems, Modernization and Social Change, Political Values etc.

Research and associated activities of RC 17 are implemented by its members through development of the following international research projects in which they are involved: Global Barometer Survey (GBS), Comparative National Election Studies Project (CNEP), World Values Survey (WVS), International Social Survey Program (ISSP).

 

Website

http://rc17.ipsa.org/