RC22 - Political Communication

Chair

Dr. Darren Lilleker, Bournemouth University (Talbot Campus)
dlilleker@bournemouth.ac.uk

Media & Communication
Bournemouth University
Fern Barrow
Poole BH12 5BB
United Kingdom

 

Vice-Chair

Dr. Óscar Luengo, Universidad de Granada
ogluengo@go.ugr.es

Ciencia Política y de la Administración
Universidad de Granada
Rector López Argüeta, S/N
C.P. 1807, Granada
SPAIN

 

Officers

Prof. Dominic Wring (Loughborough University, UK) d.j.wring@lboro.ac.uk

Prof. Philippe Maarek (Sorbonne/U-PEC, France) maarek@u-pec.fr

Dr. Marta Rebolledo (University of Navarre, Spain) mrebolledo@unav.es

Prof. Susana Salgado (University of Lisbon, Portugal) susana.salgado@ics.ulisboa.pt

Prof Eli Skogerbo (University of Oslo, Norway) eli.skogerbo@media.uio.no

 

Background

Recognised as a study group in 1980; granted research committee status in 1984.

 

Objectives

Encourages scientific analysis and discussion of the political aspects of communication within states (in a comparative framework) and across national boundaries and develops means of facilitating interaction among scholars who are conducting research on related issues and topics. Members are concerned with a diverse set of research interests including the international structure of communication, political theories of communication, the relationship between the public and private broadcasting sectors, cross-national comparative studies, the political impact of the media, the impact of technology and technological change on politics, values and cognition, and models of diplomatic communication.

 

Website

http://rc22.ipsa.org/