RC12 - Biology and Politics

President

Dr. Albert Somit, albertsomit@gmail.com

Southern Illinois University (ret.)
4971 Cindy Ave
Carlsbad, CA 92008
USA

 

Vice-President

Dr. Jerzy Wiatr, jwiatr@ewspa.edu.pl

European School of Law and Administration
Grodzienska 21
03750 Warsaw
Poland

 

Secretary

Prof. Bradley Thayer, Bradley.thayer@utsa.edu

Dept. of Political Science
University of Texas
San Antonio, TX 78249
USA

 

Liaison to IPSA

Dr. Steven A. Peterson, sap12@psu.edu

Penn State Harrisburg, Public Affairs
777 W. Harrisburg Pike
Middletown, PA 17057
USA

 

Executive Council

Dr. Odelia Funke, United States, ofunke@eartlink.net

Dr. Amy Fletcher, University of Canterbury New Zealand, amy.fletcher@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr. Patrick Stewart, University of Arkansas, United States,  pastewar@uark.edu

Michael Bang Petersen, Aarhus University, Denmark, michael@ps.au.dk

Johan van der Dennen, University of Groningen, The Netherlands, J.M.G.van.der.Dennen@rug.nl

 

Background

Recognised as research committee in 1975.

 

Objectives

Explores the linkage between biology and politics. Practically, this translates into a variety of research foci : policy issues emerging from the life sciences (bioethics, health policy, sex preselection); evolutionary bases of human political phenomena; physiological bases of political thinking and behaviour; development of research methods to assay the linkage between biology and politics.

 

Website

http://rc12.ipsa.org/