RC11 - Science and Politics

Chair

Prof. Paul M.A. Baker, Research and Strategic Innovation at Georgia Tech's Center for Advanced Communications Policy (CACP)
paul.baker@gatech.edu

Center for Advanced Communications Policy
Georgia Institute of Technology
500 10th St. NW
Atlanta, GA 30332-0765

 

Co-Chairs

Dr. Helaina Gaspard, University of Ottawa
helaina.gaspard@ifsd.ca

IFSD
University of Ottawa
115 Séraphin-Marion Pvt, Room 107
Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6N5
Canada

Dr. Marc  Schietinger, Hans Böckler Foundation
Marc-Schietinger@boeckler.de

Hans Böckler Foundation
Research Funding
Hans-Böckler-Straße 39
Düsseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, D-40476
Germany

 

Officers

Prof. Connie L. McNeely, George Mason University
cmcneely@gmu.edu

Prof. Sharmistha Bagchi-Sen, State University of New York-Buffalo
geosbs@buffalo.edu

Prof. Ulrich Hilpert, Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena
ulrich.hilpert@uni-jena.de

Prof. Desmond Hickie, University of Chester
deshickie@gmail.com

Prof. Nicola Bellini, Institute of Tourism and Groupe Sup de Co La Rochelle / La Rochelle Business School
bellinin@esc-larochelle.fr

Prof. Walter Scherrer, University of Salzburg
walter.scherrer@sbg.ac.at

Prof. Alberto Bramanti, Bocconi University
alberto.bramanti@unibocconi.it

Prof. Sunyang Chung, Konkuk University & Miller School of Management of Technology
sychung@konkuk.ac.kr

Prof. Chen Xiangdong, Beihang University
chenxdng@vip.sina.com

 

Background

Recognised as research committee in 1975.

 

Objectives

Explores the relationship between science and politics. It studies how public policies influence the conduct of science, methods, themes and its socio-economic impacts. It touches on how the discoveries change behaviors, issues and strategies of political actors.