Political Science News - Awards

The Holberg Prize

Awards of: The University of Bergen
University of Bergen
Bergen, Norway
Application Deadline: 15 June, 2017

The Holberg Prize is awarded for outstanding scholarly work in the academic fields of the arts and humanities, social sciences, law and theology. The deadline for nominations for the 2018 Holberg Prize is 15 June 2017.

The Holberg Prize was established by the Norwegian Parliament in 2003 and is awarded annually to a scholar who have made outstanding contributions to research in the arts and humanities, social science, law or theology. The prize may be awarded both for work within a particular academic discipline and for work of a cross disciplinary nature. The prize winner must have had a decisive influence on international research.

The Prize money value is NOK 4,5 million (approximately 486,300 EUR / USD 548 500*).The Holberg Prize Board awards the Prize at the recommendation of the Holberg Committee. The function of the nomination is to make the Committee aware of the candidate’s work. The Holberg Prize Laureate will be announced in March and the award ceremony takes place in Bergen, Norway, in early June.

Scholars holding positions at universities and other research institutions, including academies, are entitled to nominate candidates to the Holberg Prize. The nomination letter should be written in English and provide a statement of maximum 1 page justifying why the candidate should recieve the Holberg Prize. The nomination should also include the candidate’s CV and suggest at least three referees who know the scholar´s work.

The Holberg Committee particularly encourages nomination of established scholars below the age of seventy. Joint nominations do not strengthen a candidacy. Nominations are strictly confidential and should not be disclosed to the nominee or to others at any time. The deadline for nominations to the 2018 Holberg Prize is 15 June, 2017. We encourage that nominators use the online nomination form below. It is possible to save your progress and finish at a later point if needed.

Nordic scolars under the age of 35 can be nominated to the Nils Klim Prize. Read more here.

For further information on how to nominate or the nomination process, please contact:

Hilde Marie Rognås, Project Manager Holberg Prize
Email: Hilde.Rognas@holbergprisen.no
Tel: +47 55 58 69 92

*Currency rates may change. Present rates are from April 2016.

The Israeli Political Science Association International Award for an Outstanding Contribution to the Field

Awards of: Israeli Political Science Association
Israeli Political Science Association
Jerusalem, Israel
Application Deadline: 1 October, 2017

The Israeli Political Science Association is soliciting nominations for a new annual award to a scholar who has made an outstanding theoretical or empirical contribution to the study of Political Science, broadly defined.

Members of the award committee are professors Bryan Jones (University of Texas), Nicholas Valentino (University of Michigan), and Alex Mintz (IDC Herzliya, Chair of the ISPSA Award Committee).

Please send nomination letters and a CV of the nominee, to Prof. Alex Mintz, at mintz.alex@idc.ac.il  by 1st of October, 2017.

The winner will get a $1000 award. Self-nominations are accepted.

Our website: http://www.ispsa.org/home-en